Top Ten Tuesday, Weekly Posts

Top Ten Tuesday – Books to Read if You Love Game of Thrones

Happy Tuesday! It’s time for Top Ten Tuesday, the weekly feature run by That Artsy Reader Girl where you choose ten books to fit a weekly prompt. This week’s prompt is ten books I would recommend to someone who loves a certain genre, TV show, book, movie, etc. I thought about a lot of things for this prompt but it was really hard to find ten books. I landed on Game of Thrones. I’ve read the books and watched the first five seasons of the TV show, until it started to diverge from the books. While I love this story, there are a lot of other books out there with similar vibes that are a lot more readable and here’s my list of those.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

This is a no brainer, it’s even on the quote on the cover. Throne of Glass is basically the YA version of Game of Thrones. Now, some would say that’s a bad thing but it really just means it’s more readable in this case, even the characters don’t seem overly young. There are some books in the series I didn’t love but the same is true for Game of Thrones, there are slow parts. This has the same epic, sweeping fantasy feel with different kingdoms fighting, some magic, and very different POVs. One caveat, I still have two books left to finish my read of this series.

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

This series is really underrated and so good. This series is based on a world with multiple portions of the county that have very different landscapes, people and magic. Each generation, the queen has triplets who then each go to live in one of these regions that matches their magic and when they come of age, they fight for the crown. It’s dark and there’s plenty of fighting for crowns and plotting against others, it’s great Game of Thrones style fun.

A Court of Thrones and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Another YA fantasy series by Maas and in my opinion, the better one. This story has much more magic than Game of Thrones but has the same fighting kingdoms, internal struggles, political plotting, giant battles, and strong characters not to mention this YA series has enough smut to rival Game of Thrones.

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Red Rising starts off more like The Hunger Games but by the second book, it reads like Game of Thrones in space. Darrow’s struggles as he works to take down those who treated the reds so badly is epic and sweeping. There’s also so much political intrigue and battles, it really keeps you guessing. I really enjoyed the initial trilogy but haven’t yet picked up the other two books in this series.

The Priory of the Orange Tree by Samantha Shannon

This is the only standalone on my list but it’s over 800 pages and adult fantasy so still not a quick read. Still, this is a great read and really has that Game of Thrones feel to it. The bulk of the book follows multiple POVs in far reaching parts of this world as the tension and politics build, so similar to several pieces of Game of Thrones.

A Curse So Dark and Lonely by Brigid Kemmerer

This YA fantasy trilogy starts out with a Beauty and the Beast retelling that is done really well. By the second book in the series, it turns into a more epic story with characters striking out on various journeys and seeing nearby kingdoms.

The Poppy War by RF Kuang

I’ve only read the first book in this trilogy but I did love it and will eventually read the rest. This is an epic adult fantasy in an Asian setting. It’s a little more one-sided than Game of Thrones, just following the rebel side but still quite a sweeping story and it has that mythical magical touch where long forgotten magic is coming back to an unmagical world. Kuang is also unflinching in her story-telling, similar to the manner of Game of Thrones.

The First Girl Child by Amy Harmon

I’ve only read this first book in The Chronicles of Saylok series (second book was recently released) but it was so unique. But it did have some things that reminded me of Game of Thrones and I expect it to get more so as the end of the book seemed to be opening up the world to include more. The mysterious curse in a kingdom and an unusual hero really gives that dark fantasy feel.

The Bone Shard Daughter by Andrea Stewart

I am currently reading my ARC of the second book in this adult fantasy series. This has that same feeling of a kingdom on the edge of collapse and a mysterious threat looming. Some of the POVs in this one aren’t my favorite but the main stories are fantastic and Mephi may be my favorite sidekick ever.

Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse

I loved my read of the first book in this series and I’m anxiously awaiting the next book in early 2021. This adult fantasy has everything and I absolutely loved it. There’s multiple locations with different POVs and stories that started to all come together right at the end of the last book. There’s a mysterious character and magic. It’s awesome and really hope the next book is just as good.

That’s it, I hope you enjoyed! Let me know what you think of my choices or what you’d recommend.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books to Read if You Love Game of Thrones”

  1. Great idea for a list! I like the idea of Game of Thrones, but you’re right, it doesn’t seem like a very approachable book. Something in the same vein would probably be better for me. I really liked the one book I’ve read by Harmon, so I’ll have to give the one by her a go. Thanks for the rec!

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s